Early life[ edit ] Gibbins was born in in Saskatoon , Saskatchewan , Canada, to British parents who were academic scientists. He qualified as a scuba diver in Canada at the age of 15, and since then has dived extensively around the world. In — he was part of an international team excavating a 5th-century BC shipwreck off Turkey. His publications on ancient shipwreck sites have appeared in scientific journals, books and popular magazines.

Author:Mezirn Sakus
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):28 January 2006
PDF File Size:4.49 Mb
ePub File Size:11.31 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Beschreibung bei Amazon David Gibbins was born in in Canada to English parents who were both academic scientists. He traveled around the world with his parents as a boy by sea. He is a proud achiever of First class honors from the University of Bristol in Ancient Mediterranean studies. He also has a PhD from Cambridge university as a Research scholar of the Corpus Christi college, specializing in Archeology which he completed in He spent most of his 90s at the University of Liverpool as a lecturer in the school of Archeology, classics and oriental studies.

Gibbins spent ten years as an academic in England, teaching archeology and ancient history before becoming a full-time writer focusing on archeological thrillers inspired by his own experiences. He left academia to write novels based on his own background. David has been a passionate diver since he was a boy and his novels are mostly inspired by his experiences as an archeologist and a diver. He has led various archeology expeditions to investigate historic shipwrecks and other underwater sites in places like the Mediterranean, Canada and Britain.

For example, he was involved in the excavation of ancient Rome shipwrecks off Sicily. He was also part of an international team involved in the 5th century BC shipwreck in Turkey. His written works include 8 Jack Howard series books, 2 Total war Rome Series and several non-fictional works in archeology. He has written ten novels in 30 languages with over three million copies sold. A TV mini-series based on the Atlantis novel was in preparation by Akkord film and muse entertainment with preparation planned for His various works on ancient shipwreck sites have been published in various journals, books and magazines.

The mother of his daughter is a philosopher and a broadcaster called Angie Hobbs. He is a marine archeologist who loves to travel all over the world solving puzzles and in search of relics. The series comprises of eight books and is currently ongoing. The story comes to life with the introduction of a character who is a marine archeologist called Jack Howard.

Jack has a clue on the key to uncovering Atlantis, which is a legendary sunken city that was built by a flourishing culture. Once in the Aegean sea, Jack and his team are captured by Kazakhstan terrorists. They are later involved in a multi-country fight over a missing Soviet nuclear submarine before uncovering ancient secrets of the lost city. It proves harder and harder to put the book down once you get started with reading the book a sit is very adventurous, has a great suspense, exciting drama and lots of unexpected turn of events.

If you are a lover of history, fiction and technology, this is definitely the book for you! This was soon after its publication in The book is centered on the golden menorah from the Jewish temple that was locked away in Rome. The menorah had been stolen from the Hebrew temple by the Romans in AD70 and it is a huge golden candlestick stolen by the Romans in AD70 when they attacked the Temple in Jerusalem and marched through Rome in triumph. Jack is thus on a hunt for ancient treasure, the menorah, in the harbor of Istanbul, which was formerly called Constantinople.

Jack soon learns from his colleagues ,Jeremy and Maria, that the Menorah, which was one of the items of treasures in the harbor, has been stolen by Harald Hardrada, who was a Norse warrior during his service to Constantinople emperor. Harald Hardrada took the menorah upon his explorations of the New world.

When Jack goes to see a priest at a monastery in Iona based in Scotland, the priest tells him that the Nazi Ahnenerbe had been on the trail of the menorah in the s.

Later on the priest is found gruesomely murdered, evidencing the present-day Nazi who are shadowing the priests. There, they establish further clues that leads them to the Yucatan place in Mexico where Herald Hardrada and his men were having a standoff with Maya. It is noteworthy that the final standoff between Jack and the latter-day Nazi and his trench men who had been on his trail is a nerve-tickling book experience. Of Course, being a book with a lot of historical elaborations, the book ends with a lengthy detail of the historical and archeological facts behind the fiction in the novel.

It is very clear that the Jack Howard series is rich with plentiful and detailed descriptions of historical events and characters. It is definitely the perfect book that never disappoints your love for reading! We recently conducted a poll among visitors and the Memory Man series was voted the 8th most favourite series by all readers.

If you ARE an avid reader of it then great news — a new book is coming out very soon!!! Pre-order now. Please Note The links beside each book title will take you to Amazon, who I feel are the best online retailer for books where you can read more about the book, or purchase it. Please note that as an Amazon Associate, I earn money from qualifying purchases. Recommendations Every 2 weeks we send out an e-mail with Book Recommendations.

Insert your e-mail below to start getting these recommendations. If you see one missing just send me an e-mail below.

Then you need to read the Coffeehouse Mysteries. This series by Cleo Coyle has been going strong since and is still publishing highly rated books every year. An excellent series to get you through the cold months. More details. However there is a lot more to Blake than just that series.

He has written some of the best sci-fi books there is such as Dark Matter and Recursion. More Details.


Order of David Gibbins Books



David Gibbins


Related Articles